Where To Look

Have you ever had so much information in front of you but you can’t seem to find the exact information you need? The same concept as having all of those clothes but nothing to wear. Well tonight I had a similar problem. In the second part of my review article, I am reviewing the literature. I have been fortunate that I have been able to find numerous research articles; however, tonight I really wanted to add one piece to the puzzle.

In specific, I wanted to know if Tamiflu would protect a fetus from the influenza virus. I have articles stating that the circulation of the medication is lower in pregnant women than in non-pregnant women. There are speculations that this is due to the mother clearing the medication out of the body faster. I want to know if the lower level of circulation of the medication impacts the efficacy of the medication to protect the mother and the fetus from the virus. Basically I want to know the minimum amount of drug that is needed to inhibit the virus.

I have done searches that have included “Tamiflu”, “Pregnancy” and “efficacy”; along with multiple variations of those words, but so far I have not been able to find what I am looking for. Does anyone have any suggestions??

Leave a Reply

