The Main Reason

With every research project, there has to be a main purpose. I have already revealed that I will be writing a review article with the intent to review the safety of Tamiflu during pregnancy but I have yet to reveal why.

Tamiflu currently holds a pregnancy category of C. As I have stated in previous posts, a drug can be a category C when there is a lack of evidence to suggest that the drug may cause fetal toxicities. Currently, Tamiflu is category C due to a lack of human data and animal data or there were side effects demonstrated in multiple well-controlled animal studies but there is not enough evidence in human studies. In some animal studies with Tamiflu, there have been instances where fetal toxicities were demonstrated; however, it is important to remember that animal studies do not provide specific information for safety in humans. Category B drugs are a great example of this exception.

Tamiflu has a drug category that really does not give us specific information in human studies. As a female that wants kids in the future, I would personally be very conservative about any medications I would take while pregnant but at the same time, there are risks that the virus would cross the placenta and affect the fetus. A damned if you do, damned if you don’t situation; or rather, risk if you do risk if you don’t.

I want to know what is the most educated decision based what has been seen clinically. I need to know that if I take the medication, it will protect the fetus from the virus and I also need to know that the side effects, if they were to happen, would be worth the risk of letting the virus run its course. Basically, I want to know if the outcomes with Tamiflu are better than the virus.

Leave a Reply

